Sound Teaching

As I was reading through Biblical Doctrine this week, I found a quote that really sticks with me and shows me the importance of sound teaching.

The Teaching of Scripture serves as the yardstick, gauge, standard, paradigm, pattern, measure, and plumb line by which all other teaching on any given subject is determined to be true or false, received or rejected, sound or unsound, orthodox or heretical.

That is the application of why I study.  I want to recognize sound doctrine. I want to teach sound doctrine.  I need to always remember that my teaching serves as someone’s yard stick for life. No wonder James tells teachers in James 3:1

My brethren, be not many masters, knowing that we shall receive the greater condemnation.

I stand convicted.

Leave a Reply

