Pomegranate-Chipotle Chicken Thighs

Since I started trying to follow a low-carb diet, cooking for the children has been very hard. I think most of the things I make are delicious, but my children disagree, so when I make something that all my children eat (or at least most of them), I feel like I have to share.

So, when I told the children that I was making chicken thighs, they were more than a little skeptical.  But, in the results, I found that they all (except Bennett) ate this chicken and asked for more.

I do need to tell you upfront that this has to marinate overnight, so you’ll want to get this one started early.

If you want to give this kid-approved chicken a try, you’re going to need:

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, minced
  • 1 Tbsp adobo sauce
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup pomegranate juice
  • 1/2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Combine garlic, chipotle pepper, adobo sauce, lime juice and cumin; rub all over chicken. Place chicken in a large-zip-top plastic freezer bag; chill overnight. Remove chicken from marinade; discard marinade. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook, in batches, in hot oil in large skillet over medium heat about 8 minutes per side, depending on the thickness of your chicken. Remove from pan; keep warm.

Add pomegranate juice to pan; cook 3 minutes or until reduced to 2/3 cup. Combine cornstarch and water; add to juice, and boil 2 minutes or until thickened.  Remove from heat, and stir in vinegar. Serve sauce over chicken.

If you’re keeping track of carbs, this makes 6 servings at 8 net carbs per serving.  I don’t count too much, but just in case.

I added a side of steamed veggies tossed in the juice of one orange.  The kids weren’t crazy about the veggies, but I liked them.

21992848_10210122890090347_5434435440675952567_o

Leave a Reply

