Legacy: Reflections of a Homeschooled, Homeschooling Mama

Legacy: Reflections of a Homeschooled, Homeschooling MamaLegacy: Reflections of a Homeschooled, Homeschooling Mama by Ruth Adams

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As a homeschooler, I often wonder what my legacy will be to my children. I often wonder if we’re changing our family tree by starting a legacy of homeschooling in our family or if we’re just doing something isolated that my children will consider too weird or hard to continue.

That reminds me that one day, when I was out and about, I was talking to a mom friend, and she was telling me how hard it is to homeschool, and how she could never do it. One of my older children, piped in to tell the poor lady that homeschooling wasn’t all that hard. In fact, in her view, it was pretty easy. While I think that homeschooling is a little more challenging than Emalee put it, I realized something that day. Homeschooling is simple if you put your priorities in order.

This is also the heart of Ruth Adams book Legacy: Reflections of a Homeschooled, Homeschooling Mama . In this book, while sharing her reflections on being homeschooled and homeschooling her children, Adams continually turns us back to one priority for homeschooling. This is that the reason for homeschooling, in her words, is “to teach them to know, love and fear the Lord, and to walk according to His word.”

Adams’ book is wide-ranging. She covers topics from traditional homeschooling and large family management tips to raising our children to be defenders of our faith. She discusses family planning, media usage, avoiding the traps of legalism, marriage, tough times, and slowing down our pace to be still and know the Lord.

I find that I often disagree with her on specific topics, such as her definition of antinomianism or her distrust and dislike of modern media usage. We’ve always been a technology friendly family, and I’ve seen the positives of how technology has shaped our relationships and learning, and I think she really gives grace-based parenting (which I am an adherent of) a bad rap as almost non-parenting. In some ways, I would love to see her sources on that.

However, on the whole this is a very fruitful book. This is a book that has reminded me to focus on the important stuff. I did consider how powerful it is to slow down so that I can focus on following the Lord’s plan. I consider how she came through an excellent and discipleship focused homeschooling and that left her with the desire to homeschool her own children. That’s what what I hope and dream for my children. And I agree so much with her premise that if a homeschool is not based in Christian discipleship, then we should not allow academic pressure or outside activities to take our focus away from the main thing. We should keep it the main thing.

I think this is a great read for all Christian homeschool parents. It is affirming to our goals. It is a challenging reminder of our job. It is also a reminder that only God can give us the results that we’re looking for. As we homeschool, we need to keep remembering prayer and praying for God to change and control our children’s lives.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

