Spurgeon on Walking Uprightly

As I studied Psalm 15:2, I continued to ponder what talking uprightly meant.  I had learned from my studies of the word in Psalms that walking uprightly involves serving God and keeping from sin on my part, but trusting in God to do the rest because his law and his ways are perfect.

My next step was to consult my favorite commentary on Psalms, Charles Spurgeon’s Treasury of David. It contains Spurgeon’s thoughts along with some notable reformation era and puritan commentary.   Although I love both sections of commentary are impressive, for this section, I decided to stick to Spurgeon’s own words.  His word pictures in this are vivid, and I even attempted a few simple drawings to illustrate his two major word pictures in the commentary.

First, was the tight rope walker.  If you lean over to the side, you are going to go over, whether that is into sin or into legalism.

tight rope walking

The second image Spurgeon uses is one of a basket carrier.  I need to “walk uprightly” like my righteousness is the same as someone carrying a precious fruits or other merchandise in a basket on her head.  If I tip over the basket of my righteousness, I will lose all of my precious wares.

basket carrier

Another section of the commentary that I loved in this verse was this quote.

True believers do not cringe as flatterers, wriggle as serpents, bend double as earth grubbers, or cross on one side as those who have sinister aims; they have the strong backbone of the vital principle of grace within, and being themselves upright, they are able to walk uprightly.

Because I belong to Christ, I am able to walk uprightly.  Because he has made me upright.  He is changing me daily, and through those changes, I find myself less and less likely to lean to the side or to tip my basket in so many areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

