Sunday Sharing

Welcome to Sunday Sharing!  It is here that I share the articles and videos that have been meaningful to me during this week.

First up is Why We Struggle to Pray in the Digital Age.  I deal with many of these distractions and detriments to prayer and could really relate to this article.

My children tend to be safety obsessed, and I’m sure part of it is that we live in a safety obsessed culture.  However, the message of Following Jesus is a Different Kind of Safe is the message that I truly want to pass on to them, even if that message is a little bit uncomfortable.

Although I’ve read it before, as someone who struggles with anxiety, I think everyone should read Some Things You Should Know About Christians Who Struggle with Anxiety.

Love Please Stop Saying “Christianity Isn’t a Religion, It’s a Relationship.”  Even though I understand the sentiment, it just sounds dumb, and it isn’t exactly true.

My son has a deep love of all things World War II.  When I saw this list of WWII Books for Children, I immediately started looking through it for ideas for books for him to read.

Coming the Back Door Junior is an article that deals with something that I’ve really been struggling with handling the past year.  I don’t really know how to handle it either.

I can not tell you how many times I’ve been mentoring someone who would tell me they were “too busy” to read the Bible, but the truth is we make time for what we love.  Here’s an article sharing How Crazy Busy Women Make Time for God’s Word.

For so long, I didn’t realize that some of the things in my life I had been making excuses for were truly just areas I wasn’t as interested in being obedient to God as I was to getting my own way.  I still make excuses sometimes, especially about my eating habits, but I’m working on it! Here’s a good article on 8 Ways to Stop Making Excuses and Start Obeying Scripture.

I really needed this post on Excess, Minimalism, & Idolatry today.  I’ve been hearing all these messages across social media, books, and through friends about minimalism and decluttering and purging.  I have done some of that to my betterment, and I need to do more, but six people in a 1500 square foot house with all their stuff is still not always a pretty thing, and I am guilty of not having joy sometimes because of it. . . not because of it as much though as because of comparison and how comparing my house to someone else’s robs me of joy, and I need to remind myself that it’s okay if not everything is completely in place.  That’s not exactly the topic of this article, but that’s how I connected to it.

The article Ask Him for Joy gives me joy on so many different levels!  If you struggle in your prayer life, this is a breath of fresh air! Speaking of joy, here is a post on Reclaiming Joy that I found helpful.

I wrote a post earlier this week about how the back-to-school time of year makes me feel, so I really appreciated the post Homeschooler, Deschool Yourself!

I found great value in An Open Letter to Those Debilitated by Their Sexual Sin.  I don’t necessarily have a struggle with sexual sin, but I could totally relate to his words with some  my strongholds in my life, as I get discouraged by the length of the process and learn to fill my life with light to choke out the darkness.

Speaking of sin, I loved the analogy of The Devil’s Glasses.  I immediately thought of a struggle that I have been dealing with that I have completely bought into the first three points of this article on, much to my shame.

If you struggle with gossip, and I’m not sure there’s a lady who hasn’t from time to time, this Biblical Examination of Gossip is really helpful. While one this topic, another good article about our words is When It’s Time to Remember All the Stupid Things You’ve Said.  One more good article on speech and our tendency to think we need to express our opinion on every news story is You (I) Don’t Have to Say Everything.

That’s about all for this week!  Hope you have a great Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

