Sunday Sharing

Welcome to this week’s Sunday sharing!  It is here that I share the blog posts and videos that have most touched me this week.

First up is Eight Ways to Have a Happier Household in Times of Stress.  These are all great ways to help you become less stressed and to make your household much happier.  After all, if the whole household is stressed it’s usually coming from me!

I love WWUTT’s videos.  There’s a new one from last week on Prayer that reminds us of what we need to keep in mind when we feel like our prayers aren’t being answered.

My doctor told me to stop drinking sodas and to cut out carbs.  I want to do it, but not enough to be consistent. It weighs on my all the time because I’m not doing what I know I should be doing, or at least I’m not doing it enough to see any consistent results from it.  The post Wanting It Enough spoke real conviction to me.  I spend a lot of time wanting to make a change, but I don’t really seem to want it enough to actually consistently make changes.

I was also a little convicted as I read A High View of Marriage Includes Divorce.  I will confess that I have been guilty of judging people as unforgiving who could not live with their unfaithful spouses.  Yet, I have to admit that if that sin was against me, I’m not sure I would be able to stay.  Sometimes, we’re so legalistic in our view of what forgiveness looks like that we forget to consider how it is processed by the one who is sinned against.

Our church cut out the Sunday evening service a few years ago, and I miss it.  Here’s a great article sharing so many of the good things about a Sunday Evening service.

I struggle with being discontented with myself, almost self-hating.  This one called Destroy Her with Discontent was really chilling. These lines could have been written about me. Make her discontent, convince her that she’s not worth anything, and then drive her into all kinds of self-destructive tendencies.

We sang this song at church on Sunday, and I’ve been singing it my head all week.

How marvelous! How wonderful!
And my song shall ever be:
How marvelous! How wonderful!
Is my Savior’s love for me!

Freedom From Functional Whack-a-Mole Theology expresses the errors in some theology that I have tried to break free from.  (This is apparently a week where my Sunday sharing is going to be geared towards mostly ideas that I struggle with. Sorry about that.)

Love the post It Turns Out That Mom Shirts Matter.  We all have struggles in our Christian life.  That doesn’t mean we have to go out and embrace them though.  After all the whole point of sanctification is to be killing sin in our lives.  Another post I read this week that dealt very well this this issue is The Problem with Hip Humility.

One of the things that I love most about our switch to Ambleside Online is that I am able to teach my children hymns by sharing one hymn with them each month as our hymn of the month.  (August’s hymn is “Nothing by the Blood”.)  So, I really appreciated the article The Gospel is Like an Old Hymn. Hymns are so much better than the “Jesus is my boyfriend” type music, and the gospel is better than, well, anything.

I recently read this blog post on That Awkward Conversation for the third or fourth time.  It’s also some helpful advice on helping your friends to read better books without insulting their intelligence.

Sometimes my children aren’t very loving to each other (imagine that! LOL!), and I try to train their responses and actions to be loving.  It is so hard that sometimes you think about giving up, so I really appreciated this article on The Importance of Training in Love.  And while I’m on the subject of parenting, I found these 12 Spurgeon Quotes for When Parenting Feels Hard to be quite helpful.

That’s about it for this week.  Hope you guys are having a happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

