Human Reason

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a little piece about knowledge for the sake of knowledge.  In the original piece, I explore whether it’s okay to gain knowledge for its own sake or whether we need to be able to connect virtue to knowledge.

I find as I go along that human reason is faulty.  We scheme and we reason.  We think and we ponder only to find that, as I Corinthians 1: 25 says, the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men.

We find that, no matter how smart and well-reasoned we think we are, our reason just can’t match God’s.  After all Isaiah 55:9 says, For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

I found a quote when I was reading Divergent that I felt really spoke to the issue.  The quote says,

Human reason can excuse any evil; that is why it’s so important that we don’t rely on it.

Our human reason is faulty.  People logic away anything.  Have you ever seen how different sides of everything can be argued reasonably? People can use logic to reach completely opposite conclusions.  Why is that?  Perhaps it’s because, as Jeremiah 17:9 says, The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?

This is why knowledge would not be added for increasing the pride and reason.  Knowledge should be used to add to our virtue and obedience to God.  Never should we imagine that we are smart enough to reason better than God or to tell God that we know better than him.

Leave a Reply

