Our 2017-2018 Curriculum Plan

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, over the past year we have made the switch to Ambleside Online. I had read much about Charlotte Mason when we first started homeschooling, but at the time, I felt like it was too overwhelming to put into place, and I never did.

When we started Ambleside Online, I wanted to make it a whole family thing.  My children are 12, 10, 7, & 6, so I decided to start at the beginning with year one.

The Ambleside Online FAQ and advice told me that it would probably be too light for my older two children. However, by the time I added in hymns, Plutarch, Shakespeare, nature study, artist study, foreign language, math and folksongs, I really began to feel like the curriculum was more than enough, especially for my 10 year old.  Bennett really did need just a little more, so I went to the pre-7  list to choose some books that are considered must dos before your student starts year seven.  He works alongside the other children (except in math and foreign language), and adds one additional book to study from the pre-7 list to work through at a time.  I feel confident with this plan for him because all the information that I’ve read on Ambleside Online tells me that, even if he only finishes through year nine by the time he graduates, he will have a full and excellent education.

Our curriculum plan for this year is to finish year one, and to start year two.

We will include Plutarch’s Lives and all three Shakespeare plays.

We will also go on many field trips.

We will attend Community Bible Study and study Genesis.

We will be a part of a Science Club and study Exploring Creation with Chemistry and Physics.

We will memorize John 15, and probably at least one other chapter of the Bible (as yet to be determined).

We will do nature study, possibly doing nature walks with some local friends, and possibly taking some classes through a local field trip group.

We will do hymn study, folksongs, and art study as well.

As far as individual work goes, this is what we are doing:

Bennett:  Duolingo Japanese, CTC Math, and Fun Schooling with Minecraft.  He is also currently reading The Story of the World volume 4, and when he finishes that, I intend for him to read Rob Roy and Augustus Caesar’s World as his next reads.  He also takes Tae Kwon Do, and will be testing for black belt before the end of the year.

Emalee: Duolingo German, CTC Math and the Kitty Doodle Funschooling Curriculum book.  She takes guitar lessons, and does a great deal of personal reading for fun.

Connor:  First Start Reading Book E, CTC Math and various Funschooling Curriculum books.  He also takes Tae Kwon Do, and he loves to read all sorts of books from the library.

Ellie:  First Start Reading Books C-E (as quickly as she progresses), CTC Math and various Funschooling Curriculum books.  She also does Tae Kwon Do, and she loves to color and cute and do all sorts of little crafty things.  We occasionally find a fun workbook here and there for her to work on, and she loves it.

That’s about it for what we’re going for school this year.  I have found curriculum peace after many years of looking for it, so I couldn’t be happier in our homeschool than I am right now.

Leave a Reply

