Switching to Ambleside Online

I looked around a few months ago and realized that I didn’t like the way that our homeschool looked.  My vision of homeschooling was everyone learning and growing together, and that wasn’t what was happening in our house.  We were increasingly segregated into little kids and big kids, and I often struggled to get the little kids’ work done.

I was unhappy with the way things were going, and I felt like we needed a change. Even when I talked to the other moms that I know, I had a hard time because it just seemed like separating our kids into age groups becomes a natural way of homeschooling.

I realized I wanted a change, but I wasn’t bold enough to make it quite yet.  I started looking all around, trying to figure out what to do.  Finally, I realized that I needed a curriculum that wasn’t quite so age/grade segregated, but at the same time I wanted to be able to read lots of good books.

I was also almost overwhelmed with the feeling that I had totally messed up the big kids and their schooling.  We had started out with a classical bent, but Bennett and Emalee weren’t ready for that kind of structured schooling, so we had switched to a more delight-directed path, and had mostly completed unit studies, like the ones by Amanda Bennett.  Then, I went straight from that to two years of reviewing for the Schoolhouse Review Crew.  After that intense period of reviewing, we needed to deschool a little bit, and so we mostly completed the curriculum that I had earned by reviewing it and went on more field trips.

This is where we were at when I felt a sense of unease.  I knew that I needed to actually buy some curriculum, and I knew that it was time to make a change and find a true path for us.  I looked at a lot of different things, and then decided to just sit on it for a little bit.

We took a trip to Disney World, and while we were there, I realized that I wanted to make a switch, and that switch would be to Ambleside Online.  Only I wanted to do it in such a way that we would do it together.  I had some hazy ideas on how to accomplish it, and so, on March 5th, we began a new journey together, and so far, it has been a beautiful thing.

I’ll share a little more tomorrow as I talk about my curriculum plans for next year, so come back to see how Ambleside Online is working for us.

Leave a Reply

