Servant of God

As I continue to read The Godly Man’s Picture, I find more and more to love about the book.

One of the things that I most recently read from the book is an examination of how a godly man is a servant of God.  Let me share here.

First, he leaves the service of sin and betakes himself to the service of God. Romans 6:22-23 tells us:

 But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.  For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Everyone wants to focus on the gift of God and the wages of sin here, so I’ve never noticed how this chapter leads up to it by calling us the servants of God.  We are free to choose not to sin and to follow God in all we do, and these verses are reminders to us of that.  We are also reminded what the stakes are for refusing to turn to God and to remain in our sin.

Second, he is wholly at God’s dispose and has no will of his own. This is closely related the first one, but it is a good reminder that we are called to die to self. Luke 9:23 tells us:

And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.

We place God’s desires and his will above our own.  That’s the way it should be.  A recent example in our home of this is when my daughter, Emalee, was happily playing away on Just Dance, and her Daddy called me with a task for her.  He wanted her to lay down her game and go into the kitchen to ball the watermelon.  She groaned and she moaned.  She whined and complained, but she kept balling the watermelon.  I told her to look at balling the watermelon as a way of serving the family, and I shared the Luke 9:23 verse with her.  She told me that giving up her game time to help in the kitchen definitely qualified as self-sacrifice.

I’m sure we all have those kind of stories.  They may not seem as shallow as having to trade in our video game time to ball watermelon.  However, in the eyes of God, I’m not sure there that there is any acceptable reason to follow our own will ahead of that of the Father.

Third, we bind ourselves to God in conversion and baptism. It is true that baptism doesn’t save us.  We are saved by our faith alone, through God’s grace alone.  However, baptism is a deep part of showing our allegiance to God above.  Be proud to officially and publicly be able to bind yourself to him.

Fourth, the godly man works for God. I Corinthians 15:10 says:

But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

Those of us who love God want to work for him.  Ephesians 2:10 tells us that we are his workmanship and we are prepared for good works.  Work diligently for the glory of God in whatever you do because that is the task that God has ordained for you to do.  It is a gift from God for you.

Fifth, the godly man follows God. Because we are the servants of of God, we are called to follow him.  As I referenced earlier in the Luke verse, we are to deny ourselves to follow him.  No matter the hatred that others level at you.

Sixth, the godly man is willing to be at God’s allowance. We are told in the Bible that we cannot serve God and mammon.  We will forever resent one as we serve the other.  Philippians 4:12 says:

I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

The key to being a godly servant is to be content with what God gives you.  There are times when he gives a lot.  There are times when what you are given feels like crumbs off a table.  The servant of God is willing to be content with what God gives him without grasping for more.

Seventh, the godly man will stand up for the honor of Christ. Psalm 119:139 says:

My zeal hath consumed me, because mine enemies have forgotten thy words.

We are zealous defenders of Christ. We teach the world his words.  We show the world what the right way is.  According to John 15, that is why the world hates us.  It shows our loyalty to Christ.  I’ve often shied away from making a stand for Christ because I don’t want to be hated by the world and my more worldly friends.  That’s a mistake, and I regret it.

So, these are some ways that the godly man is a servant of God.  Do you recognize yourself in these statements? Or do you find that there are some areas that you’re failing in?

Leave a Reply

