Cheesy Tamale Pie

Recently, I made a commitment to try more family friendly recipes, in hopes of building a list of recipes that the family really likes.  I thought it would make my cooking better and for a happier family.

One of the first recipes I tried was a very user-friendly recipe, and a great one pan meal.  I don’t know about you, but I love one pan meals because the clean up is just too easy!!

I shared a picture on my Instagram, and a couple of people asked me for the recipe, so I thought I would just share it here.

Tamale Pie

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 (15-oz) cans pinto beans, drained
  • 2 (15-oz) cans corn, drained
  • 2 (10-oz) cans enchilada sauce
  • 1 (15-oz) can tomato sauce
  • 2 (4 -oz) cans diced green chiles, drained
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 1-1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 2 (6-oz) packages Jiffy corn muffin mix
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cook beef and onion in large ovenproof skillet over medium heat until beef is browned and crumbly, drain and return to skillet. Stir in beans, corn, enchilada sauce, tomato sauce, green chiles, cumin, and garlic salt.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes.

Stir together muffin mix and cheese.  Add milk, stirring until blended. Dollop batter over beef mixture.  Bake 20-25 minutes or until cornbread topping is golden brown.

This recipe is just tweaked a little bit from a recipe that I got off my Emeals account.  As you might can tell from the picture, it overflowed my skillet.  My skillet is a 12-inch cast iron, so it makes a huge amount of casserole.

It’s pretty heavy, so we served it with watermelon to lighten it up.

Leave a Reply

