Avocado-Egg Salad

Sometimes in a marriage, it feels like you might have insurmountable differences.  Things that you spend years and years of time trying to work out, but you don’t find much success in it.

Such was the case with my husband and egg salad.  I love egg salad in all its varieties.  My husband, on the other hand, hates egg salad.  I’ve spent years attempting to figure out an egg salad that everyone can enjoy has been a task of mine.  I keep failing, and then I put egg salad aside as a meal in hopes that the next attempt will be successful.  Yet every attempt failed.

. . . until last night.

Last night, I made an egg salad, and my husband said over and over again, “This is so good. And I don’t even like egg salad.  This is a keeper!”

I don’t know if it’s the bacon.  I don’t know if it’s the avocado. It could even be that this has a little less mayonnaise than other egg salads.  Whatever it is, this was a recipe that my Hubby loved.

avocado egg salad

So, here the recipe goes.

Ingredients:

  • 6 large eggs
  • 6 slices center-cut bacon, chopped
  • 2 avocados, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbsp white vinegar
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 6 slices whole wheat bread, toasted

Place eggs in a single layer in a large saucepan.  Add water to cover. Bring to a rolling boil.  Remove from heat; let stand, covered, 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, cook bacon the way you like it.  (I simply fried mine to my desired degree of doneness in a skillet.) Drain bacon. Drain eggs.  Peel eggs, and coarsely chop; transfer to a bowl. Stir in avocado, mayonnaise, vinegar, green onions, celery, salt and pepper. Divide egg salad mixture among toasts; top with bacon.

This is the amount I made to serve my family, and there’s six of us, so I would say six servings.  I had leftovers, but a couple of my children wouldn’t try it because it was green!

I paired this with a cucumber and tomato salad and a Nectarine-Grape salad.  It was the perfect cool meal for a hot summer evening!

Leave a Reply

