Sunday Sharing

Welcome to Sunday sharing!!  It is here where I share my favorite blog posts and videos that I have encountered over the past week.

First up today is Suburban Sprawl and the Dying Dream of Community Churches. Planting community churches in different parts of the city seems to work in some of the mission fields that my church supports, but church outreach in the same manner here by our church seems only marginally successful.  I think that some of the issues addressed in this blog post may contribute to this difference.

Many times I worry about the pervasive spiritual lassitude that so many of my Christian friends have. I think the blog post We have lost the sense of God truly encapsulates the root of our problem.

It is natural to take pictures of our children and post them on social media, but they may not actually want the pictures on there.  Sometimes it’s hard to make the break or to even clarify our motives about why we post pictures.  That’s why I appreciated the article What is Your Exit Plan?

I giggled at The “Vaguely Christian But Still Cool” Starter Pack. It was such funny reading, but in the end, tragic because I know people who resemble that.

I sometimes take my blessings for granted.  I know it all do, but sometimes I think we, as Americans, feel that God owes us prosperity. So, I was convicted by this article called, God Doesn’t Owe Me the American Dream.

While I’m thinking about money and prosperity, I truly enjoyed the article 7 Reasons I Didn’t Buy Homeschool Curriculum This Year. We’ve switched to a more Charlotte Mason style with note booking and living books, so we’re not really buying curriculum around here.  However, the part of the article that really resonated with me was that she had learned to stop looking for the next best thing.  I’ve spent a lot of our homeschooling years to date looking for the next best thing.

Love this article on The Excuses We Make for Sin. It so perfectly captures the errors that we quickly run headlong into as we fall into temptation and sin, often without even realizing it.

I found The Gathering Storm: Religious Liberty in the Wake of the Sexual Revolution to be an important and interesting read. What our country is really doing is creating a new “tolerance-based” morality, and liberty will not be “tolerated.”

Find Your Smile! reminds me to take time and rest so that I can be a better mother.  It also reminds me of why I struggle more with grumpiness and anger at night than during the day.

Sometimes I feel discouraged as a woman at church, and I really appreciated the article How Brainy Women Benefit the Church. I can totally relate to it because of my tendency to analyze everything! While thinking about how to study the Bible and what to use, I really loved the article called Here’s a Novel Idea.

I like the article A Hill To Die On. It reminded me on how often I make compromises on the things that I should be standing tall on.

I have been loving Tim Challies series on Christian Men and Their Godly Moms.  The article on The Power of a Mother’s Surrender is especially touching.

I’ve been adapting some of my memory keeping to a planner format lately, so I also enjoyed this Back to Basics (1): Planner Supplies article this week.

I also highly recommend the article The Only Way to Be Important: This is the Essence of Being a Christian. It really worked on my heart because I’ve been dealing with some of the same issues recently.  (Read my Ministry as Treasure Hunting to learn more about my issues.)

That’s about it for this week.  Hope that you have a great week!!

Leave a Reply

