Sunday Sharing

Welcome to Sunday sharing, the place where I share my favorite articles, You Tube videos and quotes from what I’ve been reading this week!

First up is Counting the Cost–And Determining to Build Your Home.  This one is an excellent reminder that you can’t have it all, and the decisions that you make are ones that you need to be prepared to pay the costs for.  I don’t think I clearly understood that when we became parents 🙂

Another interesting article is this one on Do We Really Have to Politicize Everything?.  I found it really interesting because I’ve been exhausted by how every purchase or thing corporations do is politicized over the past couple of years.

For a long time, homeschooling was my hobby, but I eventually realized that wasn’t healthy.  So, I really enjoyed this article on Why Mama Needs a Hobby. Also, I have struggled (and still struggle) with saying no to people, things and opportunities.  The Power of an Unequivocal “No” was very helpful to me!

I have a friend who believes in positively affirming her prayers in a way that sometimes makes me uncomfortable, but I couldn’t figure out why until I read this article called Portraits of Superstition: Jeannie and Her Bottle.  I love how clear this author made this issue for me.  Along those lines is the article Death, the Prosperity Gospel and Me.  I’ve also listened several times to John Piper on the Prosperity Gospel and his Why I abominate the prosperity gospel.  I did not realize how dangerous this false doctrine is until recently. I also did not realize how much I had internalized  a milder version of this heresy. If you don’t realize how entrenched the prosperity message is in American Christianity, maybe The Great Lie America Sent to Tanzania is the article for you.

If you’re wondering why you can’t copy someone else’s homeschooling methods and have it work perfectly for your family, you might find the article Imitation is the Sincerest form of Ineptitude to be helpful. It’s our own personal takes on homeschooling that make us the most successful. Speaking of which, I really appreciated this article To My Oldest Homeschooler . . . I’m Sorry because it took us a few years of experimenting to really find our groove.

I recently attended a discipleship conference, which has me thinking more intentionally about spiritual parenting.  So, the article Mothers in the Church was very meaningful to me this week.

“Beauty and the Beast to feature an “exclusively gay moment” is an older article on the topic, but I’ve still been wrestling with whether or not to allow my children to see the movie, and these words slay me. “I am not going to let a movie studio communicate to my children that sexual immorality is “normal and natural.” This movie will no doubt be packaged in a narrative and a production value designed to capture their imaginations, but it will do so in a way that conceals a false and destructive message. To let them see this material would go against everything that I am trying to teach them about the good, the beautiful, and the true. If these reports are accurate, this movie would powerfully subvert that effort.” If you’re still on the fence this is a good article.

That’s about it for this week!  Hope you guys are having a great week!!

One thought on “Sunday Sharing

Leave a Reply

