Sunday Sharing

Welcome to Sunday sharing! Here’s where I share my favorite articles, quotes and videos that I have encountered this week!

First up this week is a post I discovered while researching 2 Corinthians 3 called Leadership in the Church is Measured by Life Change. I don’t think I’ve ever thought so starkly about how the Corinthians were once pagans and had been brought to Christ by Paul, and then they looked down on the very one who brought them Jesus. Lord, please save me from that kind of thinking!

As a parent, one of the most important things for me is whether or not I’m passing on my faith to my children. So, I’ve read several articles recently relating to Bart Camp0lo’s Departure from Christianity.  I really appreciated this one because it helped me to formulate some lessons I can learn, as a parent and teacher from his deconversion.

I finally read John Piper’s How to Live Under an Unqualified President this week.  It’s great advice for how to live under any leader.

I also have been looking for a little parenting advice because I feel like I have one child that I’ve tended to unintentionally discourage instead of encouraging, so I read Tim Challies Fathers (and Mothers), Do Not Provoke Your Children! as a place to gain some helpful advice.

Sometimes I feel intense guilt that I’m not doing more with my life. I’m not writing the best-selling novel or theology book. I haven’t sold all and gave it to missions. I just live a quiet life, love my family, teach my children and my Bible study students and try to glorify God through what I do. So, the article What if All I Want is a Mediocre Life? really struck a chord with me.

This week I’ve been John Barry’s Cutting Ties With Darkness. I found this quote on self-promotation that was really important to me:

Whenever we seek to promote ourselves instead of Jesus, we lose sight of God’s intended purposes. If our work, or anything in life for that matter, becomes about us instead of God, we are drifting away from the realm of Christ. We are mere servants of God, bearing his image through the power of Jesus–nothing more, nothing less. God wishes to shine in our lives, so that the world may be transformed into beauty, so that sin and darkness may be pushed away as God takes over.

Love the perspective in the article In a Country Where Abortion is Illegal. I think we’re so close to “the abortion issue” that we fail to be horrified by the loss of life. Another great article to make you think about abortion is For the Church’s What if You Aborted a Future Janitor?

I struggle with my speech so Words Matter: Recovering Godly Speech in a Culture of Profanity was a timely and helpful read.  I took lots of notes!

Lately, as I’ve watched movies, I feel as if all the strong male fighters and characters have been completely taken over by these beautiful women. I don’t get the trend, and I was tickled to come across the article Why We Should Jettison the “Strong Female Character.” It’s a beautiful expression of what is wrong with making women act like men when they simply aren’t men.

So, that’s about it for this week. As you can tell, I have been reading quite a lot, and I hope you find a couple of great additions to your reading list!

Leave a Reply

