The Gift of Jesus {A BookLook Blogger Review}

_225_350_book-2078-cover

No matter what I am studying in the Bible, I always enjoy starting my day with a devotional. It’s a little tidbit of thought and encouragement that I can reflect on and carry throughout my day.  So, when I received the opportunity to review The Gift of Jesus, I looked forward to seeing what devotional thoughts might be there to help me on my way.

The Gift of Jesus is a 52-week devotional.  Each week of the devotional is written by a different evangelical pastor or writer, and each week contains five days of devotion on a specific theme. That theme varies throughout the book.  For example, week one of the devotional is written by pastor Johnny Hunt and is about Hope, specifically the hope we have in Jesus.

These devotionals are standard devotional fare.  Usually there are one or two verses referenced, followed by 3-4 paragraphs of reflection or personal illustration.  Then there is a short prayer to help you focus your prayers for the day.  This is an excellent way to start the day!

I don’t often mention the construction of a book that I’m reviewing, but I do have to mention that I love the imitation leather and softness on this one.  This is also a little bigger than a standard devotional and really feels nice in the hands.  It’s beautiful construction also would make it a great gift for a friend or family member.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

