The Blessings of Unity {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

51rc8x1sjnl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

I am always reading and focusing on my marriage.  As a homeschooling mom, and as a mom who has four children, I have to make focusing on my marriage a priority so that we do not become strangers and so that our relationship does not slip away.  As part of focus on marriage, I commit to reading several books a year on the topic.  So, when I had the opportunity to review The Blessings of Unity: God’s Best for Our Marriages, I was delighted to learn more to help my marriage.  As I have been studying unity in I Corinthians, I felt it was an excellent time to read more on how to apply that idea to my marriage.

Richard Case’s book discusses two key concepts for creating unity in our marriages.  These are (1) Abiding in the Vine and walking in the Spirit and (2) learning and applying the concept of unity.  Case starts by discussing selfishness and discord in a marriage.  He talks about what it looks like when there is disunity, using his own life and marriage as a case study, along with the non marital example of Paul and Barnabas.  He also offers a quiz for spouses to take to show how unified (or not) they are.

Once Case has given a picture of disunity, he spends the entire rest of the book discussing unity. He discusses the keys of unity and how to get to unity by abiding in God’s word.  He gives couples a Biblical method for working through disagreements.  He discusses praying your way to unity and gives multiple Biblical examples for what unity looks like.  Everything is drenched in God’s word as he writes.

I was not brave enough to take the unity quiz with my husband.  Maybe some day.  I found myself distinctively uncomfortable as I read his exposition on James that complaining and grumbling were akin to speaking evil, but I had to concede that he is right.  I thought it was brave and touching of Case to share his story of a marriage that most would call good, but which was riddled in his own selfishness.  I found that there were many other good points to this book, and it was one that I enjoyed.  I think there are many things  I will apply from his take on the scriptures., and will be fruitful on helping me find a place of unity in my marriage.

If you’re looking for an excellent free read from the All for Jesus ministry, just click here to download the free e-book Unshakeable.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

