40 Days to a Joyful Motherhood {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

61combehrvl-_sx399_bo1204203200_

I love devotionals, and I love drawing and coloring.  I also need all the encouragement as a mother that I can get because some days are hard!! So, I was delighted to get the opportunity to review Sarah Humphrey’s 40 Days to a Joyful Motherhood: Devotions and Coloring book to Nourish Mom.  I just knew it was going to be a hit with me!

Humphrey has created a series of forty 10-minute daily devotions that focus on six key topics of motherhood:

  • Self-acceptance
  • Self-care
  • Reconciling with grief, hope and expectations
  • Generosity
  • Presence
  • Forgiveness

For each day, there is a verse of scripture, a couple of devotional paragraphs, a  simple prayer and a page for coloring.  Each major topic of the devotional is also sectioned off with a couple of pages of thoughts introducing them.  The devotionals themselves are small and bite-sized, but each one is deep enough to have you thinking and reflecting on it throughout the day.

The drawings are sketchy and simple to color.  They are mostly hearts, flowers and simple border doodles, and I found myself inspired to copy many of them in my travelers notebook and in my Bible. The paper is lightweight and thin, and you will want to use a lighter media (like colored pencils) for completing the coloring pages.

All in all, this was a fun devotional and an easy way to relax for me in the evenings.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

