Parenting {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

41rpoidmbhl

Do you feel that what you are doing with your children isn’t important? Do you feel like it’s just one more load of laundry, one more drive to soccer, one more meal to cook? What gives you purpose as a parent?  That is the subject of Paul David Tripp’s Parenting: 14 Gospel Principles That Can Radically Change Your Family.

In this book, Tripp, discusses how parenting is more than a to-do list.  It’s not a list of parenting strategies bridged together to create temporary change in your child’s behavior.  Instead, it is the passing down of our faith and the changing of lives.  Our work as parents is kingdom work.

As a part of this Tripp begins with the reminder that we are ambassadors and stewards of our children.  They are not our property and we are not free to parent however we wish. Instead, we are to parent in the way that God requires.  It is our holy calling, and there is no job, ministry or activity that can be allowed to crowd that out.

The remainder of the book explores the principles of the gospel that are applicable to parenting.  These include such big concepts as grace, law and authority.  The concepts are interconnected so the book meditates back-and-forth between topics even though each chapter has its own designated chapter.

This was a really penetrating book to read.  I found myself underlining large passages and there was nearly something on every page that I underlined. I am so glad of God’s grace because I mess up and get this parenting thing wrong every day, and I found reading this book to be penetrating and convicting.  Tripp says some harsh and controversial things, and even though  I agree with his positions, it can be a lot to take in.  However, overall, this is one of the best parenting books that I have ever read, and it is one that I feel I will need to re-read sections of quite often to help keep myself on-track as a parent.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

