Life Creative {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

51k4blfggkl-_sx321_bo1204203200_

All moms are creative in their own ways, even if they don’t think that they are creative.  However, for reasons best known by these moms, they may not feel at liberty to create because of the balance that they need to have with the care for their children. As a mom who likes to draw, paint, hand letter, write, sew and scrapbook,  I think I’m at a point where I can safely say I’m creative. In fact, I feel a need to make life more beautiful. So, when I received the opportunity to review Life Creative: Inspiration for Today’s Renaissance Mom, I was hopeful for some inspiration in my creative endeavors.

This book is a book that was a slight puzzle to me when I began to read it. The authors start with the supposition that when a woman becomes a mom that she feels has to set aside the creative part of herself in service to her family. They even go so far as to refer to the early years of childcare as the “dark ages” and the children we adore as if they’ve imprisoned us and confined us to something less than God’s plan for our lives. Once, the authors have laid this foundation, they then begin to encourage women to be free within their confines to create, to grow as artists and to add their artistry to their lives as well as to their actual practice of their art.

Throughout the book, the authors pepper their ideas with examples of current women who are business women, bloggers and artists in a digital age when art can be shared and sold with a few clicks of a button. They give advice for Moms who a trying to make the leap from creating personally to creating for profit.  (That’s not a leap that interests me at this point, but it gave me some ideas to consider for later.) They teach you about parenting your children from the overflow of your creativity.

At many turns this book is inspiring and the advice is often sound. However, I found myself disagreeing with the premise that they started with, even though it seems to resonate with many other mothers when we talk about creativity. No one ever told me that being a mother meant I’d have to give up my creativity or my dreams. No one ever told me that my children were my jailers and I never once have felt that way. In fact, I’m just as likely to allow them to pull alongside me and to use my “fancy” paints, paper crafting materials, brush markers and other supplies as artists in their own right. Instead of finding myself sacrificing my creativity as a mother, I have found that my creativity inspires my children’s creativity and gives me another avenue for teaching and discipling my children.

So, in the end, I guess my recommendation is twofold. If you feel that you’ve been stifled in your creativity by your motherhood, perhaps you need to read this book to help you let go of your feelings of guilt for creativity. However, if you feel secure in your creative pursuits, this may not be the book for you.  It has some good ideas, but I never really got over the uncomfortable feeling that the book gave me when it suggested that my children might be keeping me from living the creative life.

Don’t just take my word for it though.  You can win your own copy of Life Creative along with other great prizes.  Just click here to get started!!

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

