Star Struck {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

_225_350_book-2058-cover

My  children are studying astronomy this year.  So far, we’ve studied the solar system, NASA, telescopes, and the sun, and there is so much more to learn and discover that we’re excited for the months ahead.  As we study, I’m looking for resources to supplement that study and  for me to read so that I can increase my knowledge base and help them to understand more. So, when I received the opportunity to review Star Struck: Seeing the Creator in the Wonders of Our Cosmos, it exactly fit the bill for what I was looking for.

In this book, Dr. David Bradstreet takes us on a guided tour of stars, asteroids, galaxies, nebula, black holes and other cosmic characters. Along the way, he shows us that the story of astronomy is a story of people seeking to better understand the Creator’s character by studying both scripture and nature.  He not only introduces us to historical fact, but also to the people who have studied the stars, which helps us to put flesh to the facts.  And to this homeschool mom’s delight, he discusses his own love of astronomy and shows us proof of how science and religion have mingled in his life.

This book is wonderfully readable.  Bradstreet has enlisted the help of writer, Steve Rabey, and the friendly and easy to read style is perfect for the nonscientist.  In fact, it is so readable that I have considered going through this book and discussing it with my sixth grader.  I think he would enjoy it too.  However, it is not a book I would allow him to go through without discussion with me because I am not pleased with the chapter on the age of the universe where he calls “young earth” apologetics anti-intellectual. It’s a dismissive tone (in an otherwise excellent book) that bothers me enough to mention it here.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

