Discipline that Connects with Your Child’s Heart {A Bethany House Review}

51ggpzg-kzl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Parenting is hard. We all want connection with our children. We all want well-behaved and respectful children. We all want children that are raised in our faith and choose to embrace it as their own. We all want children who grow up to be principled and responsible adults. Yet, in the messiness that we live in and in our own flesh, sometimes the methods that we use are not really effective. They are not getting the results that we’re looking for. I often feel like my parenting is on the edge of desperation and exhaustion for both results and for obedience. Sometimes connection gets missed along the way because I fear being a weak parent or one with awful children who grow up to be horrible adults. So, when I received the opportunity to review Discipline That Connects With Your Child’s Heart: Building Faith, Wisdom and Character in the Messes of Daily Life, I was hopeful to find some ideas to help my parenting to become both more effective and more relationship oriented

I found that this book bases parenting in four messages:

  1. Foundation:  You Are Safe With Me.
  2. Connect: You Are Loved No Matter What
  3. Coach: You Are Called and Capable
  4. Correct: You Are Responsible for Your Actions

Along the way, parents are called to evaluate how their baggage and emotions get in the way, given specific ideas of better responses for discipline and are shown where the foundation is for this idea of discipline in the Bible.

I found that this was truly a helpful book. It is a beautiful picture of the Father’s love for me and what my love and relationship should be with my children. So often, my own baggage gets in the way of me being able to discipline my children in a way that is effective and that builds our relationship, and I am more aware of that as I go about my day now.  I am sure that this is a parenting book that I’ll be referring to often.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

