Greek for Everyone {A Baker Books Review}

514bo4pwsbl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

I love spending time in Bible study, and increasingly, I have had an interest in determining Greek words and meaning.  I have been spending a lot of time with apps such as Blue Letter Bible, and I have been using a concordance and an expository dictionary pretty heavily as I read the New Testament.  However, I would like to understand Greek and how to use Greek to do word studies, so when I received the opportunity to review Greek for Everyone: Introductory Greek for Bible Study and Application, I was hopeful that this would help my understanding of New Testament Greek.

This book starts with the basics.  The Koine alphabet was introduced. We are taught levels of meaning, parts of speech, and levels of meaning.  As they are explained, Thornhill uses actual examples from the Bible to explain how this affects interpretation.

Once the basics of grammar are explained, Thornhill then provides several big picture chapters of take aways for interpretation. He compares English translations. He discusses contexts. He explains the right and wrong way to do word studies.  Then, he pulls things all together and discusses how grammar and context should affect our interpretation of the New Testament.

I found this to be an interesting study, and one that I will probably refer back to often. It has enhanced my awareness of how vital it is to understand the actual context and parts of speech in translation. It also has helped me to understand more about how the translations that I use for study are affected by layers of interpretation.  It makes for interesting and helpful reading.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

