What is Reformed Theology? {A Baker Books Review}

51atsa3ctyl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

A couple of years ago, I heard a visiting speaker at our church say that our pastor was fighting against a “tide of reformed theology” that was rising in our churches.  I puzzled over that statement a lot because I realized that I didn’t even know what reformed theology was!  Although I have vaguely heard phrases such as “the 5 solas” or “TULIP,” I have never been really sure what the big deal was, but I have been very curious. So, when I received an opportunity to review a new edition of R.C. Sproul’s classic What is Reformed Theology? Understanding the Basics, I jumped at the opportunity to understand reformed theology just a little better.

This is book is written by R.C. Sproul to clear up some misconceptions.  Apparently, there are many people like me who have heard buzz words and phrases (in either a negative or positive way), but have never had a true understanding of that they mean.  So, in this book, Sprout walks through the foundations of Reformed doctrine. In the first half of the book, he explains how Reformed belief is centered on God’s, based on God’s word, and committed to faith in Jesus Christ. Then, in the second half, Sprout explains the five points of Reformed theology that I had come to know as TULIP.

The writing in this book is clear.  It is informative.  His arguments and descriptions are based in scripture.  He appeals to church fathers and historical theologians in his discussions.  It is really a delightful book to read. I have not been won over to reformed theology, and I do have areas of disagreement with Sproul.  However, that does not change the fact that this is a good well-reasoned book, and a great explanation of what Reformed theology is all about.  I also found myself (as a Christian) reassured that the reformed theologians and I are not so far apart that there are not many areas in which we agree.  If you’re looking for a book to explain reformed theology, this is one that I highly recommend.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

