Me Too {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

51uiqfvs9pl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Sometimes I see a book on the review list, and I go ahead and request it, even though I’m not personally excited by it.  I don’t expect much of these books, but usually the cover or the back copy appeals to me, so I request it from the list. I’m telling you this to be transparent, and to let you know that I really wasn’t expecting much when I requested Me Too: Experience the God Who Understands.

In this book, Jon Weece discusses how we don’t always have to smile when we have pain in our life. We don’t always have to feel like praising God when bad things happen. He tells us that one of the reasons we lack connection with other people is because we refuse to be vulnerable. (Can I get an amen here?)

He talks about Jesus. He talks about slowing down to see what is broken in ourselves and in others. He discusses depression, abortion, legalism and heaven. The book is loosely organized, but many times reads like a free riff.  There’s a mingling of scripture, stories, personal experiences, quotes and lovely discussion.

The result is a beautiful book. It’s touching. It’s convicting.  When I read the chapters on suicide and abortion, I was in a public setting, trying not to do the ugly cry. Reading about death and the grace with which other Christians responded to it, touched me to the core. I wasn’t expecting much of this book, but found it to be a beautiful book and worthy of spending some time with.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

