Jesus and the Beanstalk {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

61svrkkiyfl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

I think that all of us who are Christ followers want to live a fruitful life. We find that sometimes because of fear, apathy or sin that we have in our life that we can’t grow spiritually and that we can’t pass on our faith in a way that leads to a a fruitful life.  I know that I have my own struggles with fear and “giants in my life.” So, when I received the opportunity to review Jesus and the Beanstalk: Overcoming Your Giants and Living a Fruitful Life, I was intrigued by the author’s premise and looked forward to spending a little time exploring it.

In this book, Roeleveld begins with a simple premise. We live in a land of giants. God honors those with faith, but often we, like Jack in the Beanstalk’s mother, are so focused on our mundane circumstances and our perceived needs that we can’t appreciate the truth wealth of what we have inside our faith.  After taking this approach to looking at faith and the discouragements from faith, Roeleveld spends some time encouraging us to develop more growth oriented attitudes spiritually, and explaining how all this relates to eight character qualities relayed in 2 Peter 1.

The meat of the book is an eight week Bible study of sorts where the reader spends a week exploring each character quality.with direct teaching, inspirational essays and times of reflection.  Each day includes some small steps toward slaying giants for the reader to complete.

This is a really lovely Bible study, and as one of the discipleship courses that my church teaches is a 13 week examination of these character qualities, I found this to be something that was readily applicable to my life and where I am in my spiritual growth.  I find that I love books like this one because she constantly drives us to the Bible and has a lot of work that she wants us to complete to benefit from the writing and ideas that she is sharing. Although I read through it as a reviewer, I will certainly be coming back to it as a student and taking my time to study through it in a leisurely way.  There’s a lot of good information here, and it’s best unpacked through journaling and time spent in the Bible and prayer.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

