An Overdue Update

It’s been far too long since I’ve done a personal blog post to update you guys on our lives. I don’t think I’ve written since we came home from the beach.  I think of blog posts all the time, but I never actually make the time to write anything but book reviews lately.  We’re just too busy with life right now.

However, I didn’t want you wondering if I fell off the face of the earth, so I thought I’d pop in for a quick update.  We  spent a lot of August going on field trips.  We went to Chick-fil-a for an educational tour.  We went to the post office, the fire station and the police department.  It was totally enough to count as a community helpers unit study for the younger children if I had been that organized! LOL

field-trips

We had done math, english and Bible over the whole summer, but we started back with our history and science this month.  We’re working through a Beric the Briton unit study, and as part of that, we’ve spent much time learning about Horatius at the bridge.  We’re proceeding slowly, but we are making progress!

We’ve also been working through the Apologia Exploring Creation with Astronomy, and we’ve created model Stonehenges and a scale model of the solar system as part of that study.  I just ordered a few books from Amazon on the sun because we have lots of fun ahead working on that chapter of the book 🙂

Bennett and Emalee are also collaborating on a series of Manga inspired comic books, and I think that’s fantastic.

schoolwork

We’ve also spent a great deal of time playing.  The kids have dressed up as wonder pets, firemen, Pokemon and pirates.  We’ve made plenty of fresh play dough that has kept the younger two busy for hours.  We also made lots of time to watch the Olympic games.

playing

That’s really about it for us.  Well, we’ve also been reading through all the Harry Potter novels.  We’re almost through with number 6!  So, what have you been up to?

Leave a Reply

