For Better or for Kids {A Booklook Bloggers Review}

41xnH7tpDIL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve read several books about marriage lately.  I have a good marriage, and I realize that marriage is one of those relationships that always need attention, especially when there are children in the house. So, when I had the opportunity to review For Better or for Kids: A Vow to Love Your Spouse with Kids in the House, I knew that it was a book that I wanted to read.

In this book, co-written by Patrick & Ruth Schwenk, there is much discussion of marriage and of how that relationship has to transition to life after the children are born. After all, God gives us these children to nurture and to raise, but sometimes in our desire to give them the best, we end up moving our partners out of our primary relationship with them.  Our marriages take a back seat.

So, in this book, the Schwenks discuss how to build a God-centered marriage instead of a child-centered or me-centered marriage.  They do this through examining our romantic lives, our teamwork as parents, giving grace to each other, finding time for rest, dealing with busyness, when you’re running on empty, communication, finances, and dealing with times of pain.

I found this book to be encouraging. I have been truly working on eliminating the busyness in my life so that I can be a better wife and mother, and so that I can follow the call that God has given me in my life.  I’m afraid that it’s all to busy for me to get wrapped up in busyness and to put my husband completely behind both my ministry work, friends and my children.  So, this was an affirming message that it’s okay to say no, and that I need to attend to those relationships that God has placed in my life, beginning to my husband.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

