Today’s Moment of Truth {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

51JIF3ZhSqL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_

I always am looking for excellent devotional thoughts to start my day with.  Although many are inspirational in nature, I’m always looking for something just a little bit different to start my day.  So, when I received the opportunity to  review Today’s Moment of Truth: Devotions to Deepen Your Faith in Christ, I decided it would be perfect to take a look at and see if it was a book that I’d want to use in my devotions.

The premise of Today’s Moment of Truth is that we often do well at loving Christ with our whole heart and soul, but we don’t always love him with our minds or our strength. In fact, we are often not even equipped to love him with our mind and strength, so we’re tossed about by waves of doctrine. So, the authors of this book seek to rectify that by giving us daily devotions that are helpful at reinforcing our faith and will help give us the knowledge background to make the case for Christ with our friends and acquaintances.

This is not the normal inspirational devotional.  Instead of providing a solely inspirational thought, the authors start out with scripture and they often provide a quote from an author or thinker that is in opposition to the the scripture.  Then, the authors spend the majority of the devotional using logic and evidence to prove what is true for the reader. The results often end up being devotional, but that’s not necessarily the main thrust of the devotional.  I find that as I read them, my mind is challenged, and I feel more equipped to understand and convey the gospel message.  In my mind, that is always a very good thing, even if many times there is not a true devotional application to the day’s reading.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

