An Unexplainable Life {A Moody Publishing House Review}

51JL6sTu7dL._SX367_BO1,204,203,200_

I love to read through the Bible while aided by Bible studies because the author has done some of the work for me.  Instead of looking for my own cross-references, I’m able to rely on the author’s cross-references, and usually gain some insight to the context of the book as I go along the way.  It’s been a few years since I studied the book of Acts, so when I received the opportunity to review the new Bible study An Unexplainable Life: Recovering the Wonder and Devotion of the Early Church, I decided to pick it up and start working through it.

This book is a ten week Bible study through the first twelve chapters of Acts.  The author goes through Acts verse by verse and provides five days of homework for each of the ten weeks. Blissfully, there are no video lectures accompanying the study, although readers are encouraged to go download a “deeper discoveries” document that helps to link Acts to the Old Testament.

Acts can be a difficult book, and many church denominations interpret the book differently, so Wiggenhorn dances a delicate dance to write about and ask questions about various sections of Acts without getting bogged down into different denominational disputes. Instead, she has you clarify, as you go through the book the facts, and then, she makes some applications and has inspirational and devotional thoughts to go along with the passage in question.  A personal favorite of mine is the emphasis on the phrase “all that Jesus began to do and teach” in week one.  It’s amazing to me to think of how Jesus’s life as portrayed in Luke was really just the beginning of his work.

There are times where I feel like she’s a little reaching, such as in her discussion of Ananias and Sapphira as a lecture against covering for your husband’s sin.  However, for the most part, I enjoyed Wiggenhorn’s text and the questions.  I also enjoyed the blue boxes scattered throughout and used them for illustrating verses and prayers.  I  wish all Bible studies came with those blank spaces!

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

