If My Husband Would Change, I’d Be Happy {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

51YGVbJfVWL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

There are a lot of myths that we seem to believe about our husbands.  One of those myths for unhappy wives is that if their husbands would change, that they would be happy.  Others include ideas such as, “If I were married to someone else, I’d be happier,” “If I were prettier, he’s love me more,” and “More money equals less stress.” These myths and other common ones for wives are the myths tackled in Rhonda Stoppe’s new book, If My Husband Would Change, I’d Be Happy (& Other Myths Wives Believe).  As I occasionally lapse into believing some of these myths (mostly the ones about being prettier or having more money), I was thrilled to get the opportunity to review this book and share a few of my thoughts about it.

In this book, Rhonda shares personal stories, helps you enrich your relationship with your husband, teaches you to deal with unfulfilled longings, gives you a secret to keeping your husband’s attention, and give you 10 keys to a happy marriage. She also has her husband write a page or two each chapter giving insight into the myths from the husband’s perspective. She has small audio clips and resources on her website for each chapter of the book and some reflection and application questions at the end of each chapter, making this a great resource for a young wives Bible study.

There are some of these myths that I tend to believe, and others that I know aren’t true, so I felt bolstered by Stoppe’s self-assured and confident tones in the book. I also felt bolstered by her reliance on scripture as her guide. So many of the marriage books that I have read (even Christian ones!) do not point you back to Christ as a part of advice that they are giving you. Stoppe constantly reminds you that your husband is not supposed to fulfill all the longings in your life. Only Christ can do that.

I also was constantly impressed by Stoppe’s continuance to have wives look at the changes that they can make in their attitudes. She reminds wives not to be self-focused on their own happiness.  Instead, she reminds us to focus on loving Christ and looking to the happiness of others above our own happiness.  With those guidelines, we’re able to live a more Christlike life, and our marriages will improve, even if our husband never changes 🙂

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

