Would a Worm Go on a Walk? {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

61RWr17UN0L._SY425_BO1,204,203,200_

We often go to the library and bring home our entire limit on books in picture books. Then, we’ll spend fantastic days going through and reading each and every one. Even my eleven year old still loves picture books.  So, when I had the opportunity to review the new pictures book Would a Worm Go on a Walk?, I knew that my children would love the bright pictures, the animals and the silly questions that are asked throughout the book.

Some of these questions include things such as:

Would a worm go on a walk?

Would a piglet play piano?

Would a lion be a lifeguard?

The book then, after the zany questions and matching pictures explains that, “No” they wouldn’t do these things because that’s not how God made them. Through doing this, the book highlights the unique strengths and abilities that God gave each animal and reminds us that it’s God who gave them these unique attributes. Then, of course, at the end the person reading this book is reminded that he or she is God’s masterpiece.  It’s a very affirming and life-giving message.

I wasn’t wrong about the book.  My children loved it.  They loved the silly questions. They loved the silly pictures, like the one of the ladybug putting on lipstick or the worm with tennis shoes.  They thought those pictures were laugh-out-loud funny. They had not problem understanding that the message of the book is truly that God made each one of us special from the worm to the pig to the lion to them. We talked about each one of them and how they were different from each other, and how God had made them that way.  I think it was a very happy message for them to absorb.

As a homeschool Mom, I will confess that seeing the pictures of all the different animals and the questions made me instantly think of what a great book this would make as an introduction to an animal studies unit with my five & six year old children.  It’s just enough information to get them interested in learning more.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

