Between Us Girls {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

51BtUVcAkVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Are you trying to connect with your daughter? Do you often feel like you’re flailing about and not making much difference with her? I do. In fact, sometimes I feel like I’m having a hard time making a connection with her and a difference in her life at all. So, when I had the opportunity to review Between Us Girls: Walks and Talks for Moms and Daughters, I was hopeful to have a tool for two things.  I was wanting to be able to build a better rapport with my daughter and I was hoping to be able to impart some important truths to her in a way that seemed really user-friendly.

Between Us Girls is a book that has twenty-six gospel driven talks to help guide mothers in their discipleship of their daughters. The talks are all scripted, and they give moms and daughters the opportunity to read God’s word together, ask each other questions, be honest about their struggles and to open the channels for future communication. These talks are meant to be used once a week and cover a myriad of subjects from the foundations of our faith to personal appearance, fears, changes and doubts.

Each talk also has four sections.  These are:

  1. The Garden: God’s vision for us
  2. The Weeds: How sin messes everything up
  3. The Hill: How this relates to the gospel
  4. The Field: This is the applicational part of the talks.

I really felt like this is a good book to go through with my daughter. The talks are scripted, so it’s open and go through together.  All I have to do is to read what’s written, look up scripture and answer the questions with my daughter. My daughter’s love language is personal time, so I know she’ll thrill to being able to spend that time with me. The talks also don’t talk down to Moms or daughters and are an excellent resource for building relationship and creating discipleship time. I look forward to spending many weeks working through this with Emalee.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

