My Mother’s Quilts {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

61BdNGfHe5L._SX343_BO1,204,203,200_

All families have things that they do that create a particular family culture.  A hobby might be shared among all the family members. A particular movie or series of books might be treasured as part of a family belongingness. So, it comes as no surprise that when a family has a heritage of loving quilting, the love (if not the actual quilting) would be passed onto their children along with some actual quilts. In My Mother’s Quilts: Devotions of Love, Legacy, Family and Faith, author Ramona Richards finds herself inspired by family stories and by the quilts that have been passed on to her and her sister to create a series of writings to ponder those quilts in the light of her faith.

I could hardly start to talk about this book without noting that it’s a lovely book.  It’s hardcover with thick, glossy and colorful pages. Each devotion is set off with its own pastel candy colored pages of pink, lavender, orange, mint green and yellow. There’s a lovely maroon colored satin book mark, and there are full color photographs of over 30 different quilts in the pages of this book. This is definitely a great and luxurious feeling gift for a special lady in your life, whether she be a mom, a grandmother, a secret angel or just a friend.

Enclosed in the pages of the book are approximately 60 devotionals that take aspects from quilts and from the author’s life and family history to begin to unpack some spiritual truths. For example, the devotion that I read today was titled “That Which Does Not Fade.” Richards discusses a quilt that her great-grandmother made.  It’s a twenty-five patch quilt that is made with great skill, and had faded beautifully over time. Except, there’s one block of patches that has three blocks of indigo that have not faded. Whether knowingly or not, her great-grandmother had chosen indigo for the blue fabric, creating an imperfection because indigo doesn’t fade the way that the rest of the colors that she had chosen faded.

In application from this devotional, Richards reminds us of two things. One is that perfection belongs only to the Lord.  The other is that God’s love is unchanging, and impenetrable.  It never fades, even though everything around it is going to fade. For me, that’s shouting ground! An excellent start to get me praising God as I go about my morning!

This is really a well done book. It often reads like a personal memoir, but then I find myself surprised as these personal thoughts turn quickly spiritual. It’s been an excellent read for me as I get started on my quiet time each morning.

Even better than that is that I have a great opportunity for you! You can win one of the quilts featured in #MyMothersQuilts by Ramona Richards. Also up for grabs: loads of other prizes including quilting hand warmers, coloring books, and 25 signed copies of Ramona’s book. Winners will be emailed after the contest ends on June 30, 2016. Click the image to get started!

thumbnail_Win This Friendship Quilt!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

