Simply Calligraphy {A Blogging for Books Review}

41Mo2xSWLFL._SX408_BO1,204,203,200_

I have recently been working on Bible journaling and other mixed media art, so I decided that it would be the perfect time for me to learn calligraphy.  Most calligraphy books are fast paced, difficult to follow and include many, many calligraphy styles, so when I received the opportunity to review Simply Calligraphy: A Beginner’s Guide to Elegant Lettering, I thought it might be a good match for what I was wanting to learn.

This book focuses on the most popular of all the calligraphy alphabets–the italic.  Beginning with lowercase letters, the author has diagrams and instructions showing each letter grouped by specific letter types.  After all the letters have been introduced, the author has sections on putting all the letters together, creating flourishes and some projects that you can create using the calligraphic letters.

I found this book to be a good introduction to the idea of doing calligraphy and a good in-depth instruction to doing a very popular alphabet set.  As a complete calligraphy beginner, I really appreciated it.  However, as a left-handed person,  I wish the author had spent more time providing guidance to lefties.  The main instruction, “Left handers may have to turn their paper to get into the proper position” is a little vague at best for those of us who are left-handed and newbies to calligraphy or hand-lettering.

I also wish that there were some blank practice pages in the back, even just one that I could copy for practice.  That would certainly save some time web searching for practice sheets (the author’s suggestion).  When I buy a book, I don’t want to have to then spend time searching the internet for what I need to complete the tasks in the book.

Otherwise, this is a nice introduction to the italic alphabet, and one that I look forward to practicing more with.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

