Unstuffed {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

_225_350_Book.1914.cover

My house is a cluttered mess.  Sometimes I look around and am okay with that.  Other days it drives me crazy.  Homeschooling, mothering and having four children takes a toll on my house.  I often think about (and sometimes start) decluttering, but I’ve never managed to actually complete the process.  So, when I saw the Ruth Soukup’s new book Unstuffed: Decluttering You Home, Mind and Soul, it really appealed to me.

Soukup’s book covers decluttering on a physical level like I was looking for, but she also covers decluttering your mind and your soul as well.  The details of this book include living with kids, organizing, scheduling, handling paperwork,dealing with your feeling’s towards gifts from others, finding balance, friends and your spiritual life. She gives many inspirational helps and real-life stories, but Soukup also gives practical hints and helps along the way, creating a great balance of practical and inspirational in the book.

I really enjoyed this book, and found that I am already putting some of her hints into practice. For example, I realized that I didn’t need all those thousands of emails in my email box and I mass deleted every single one.  I felt instant relief from not having them in my inbox.  Another area that I found help is letting go of the guilt attached with gifts.  My grandmother, who is almost 80, has a habit of giving me the stuff that she doesn’t need or want anymore.  I feel guilty for getting rid of any of it because she gave it to me.  I haven’t actually gotten rid of any of the stuff that I don’t want yet, but I find that I’m a little more willing to do that now.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Unstuffed {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Leave a Reply

