None Like Him {A FlyBy Promotions Review}

41pFkL5Z-4L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Many times in my life I’ve found myself falling into a trap of thinking that I’m like God (or that my ways and thoughts are better than his).   I don’t mind admitting that I’m a sinner who is often drunk on her own pride, and I’ve found that this path almost always leads to humbling and loss.  So, when I saw the title of Jen Wilkin’s new book, None Like Him: 10 Ways God is Different from Us (and Why That’s a Good Thing), I was intrigued.

This is the description of the book that caught my attention:

God is self-existent, self-sufficient, eternal, immutable, omnipresent, omniscient, omnipotent, sovereign, infinite, and incomprehensible. We’re not. And that’s a good thing. Our limitations are by design. We were never meant to be God. But at the root of every sin is our rebellious desire to possess attributes that belong to God alone. Calling us to embrace our limits as a means of glorifying God’s limitless power, Jen Wilkin invites us to celebrate the freedom that comes when we rest in letting God be God.

As you might can imagine from my previous confession, I stood convicted before I ever even opened the book.  The conviction would keep on going as I read the book, and as I looked at sentences such as:

Rather than worship and trust in the omniscience of God, we desire to be all-knowing ourselves. Rather than celebrate and revere his omnipotence, we seek ultimate power in our own spheres of influence.

or

Whatever our sphere of influence, we convince ourselves that we deserve credit for creating that which we are called to steward.

I even got the embarrassment of having the author remind me that “only God can create righteousness in another person.” I can’t tell you how many times I’ve usurped the role of Holy Spirit in the lives of my children, husband or disciple.  I’m not God, but I certainly act like I think I am a whole lot.

Yet, despite all the conviction I would grow to feel through the book, the author’s tone is never one of judgment.  Instead, she commiserates and reminds us of how common these actions and feelings are for all of us.  It’s part of being mere humans, and that’s okay.  We have a God who is big enough to handle it.  After all, he’s unchanging, self-existent, self-sufficient and so many other things that we are not.

In the end, I found this a great and Biblical read.  I also appreciated the extension scriptures, journaling questions and prayers at the end of each chapter. This allows the reader to go deeper as they study the book or to study with a group.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

