The Longing in Me {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

_240_360_Book.1919.cover

Sometimes a book fits a need in your life.  Other times, you pick a book based solely on the cover description.  That’s what happened with me when I picked up The Longing in Me: How Everything You Crave Leads to the Heart of God from BookLook Bloggers new product list this month.  I was wooed by such lines on the back cover as, “Do your desired have you going around in circles? You may be looking for fulfillment in all the wrong places.”  To say, I could relate would be putting it mildly.

So, when I started reading this book, it was a pleasant surprise to me to realize that this book is so much about the life of David and how his longings were sometimes satisfied by God and other times he tried to feed them in his own flesh.  Author Sheila Walsh also peppers her discussion on David with real examples from her own life of time when she’s turned to God and times when she’s dug herself a big black hole of sin.

Some of my favorite passages in this book deal with our desire to be protected.  She discusses the familiar story of David and Goliath, but this time, she reminds us that Saul, as the tallest man and king of all Israel should not have been intimidated by the giant Goliath.  However, as Walsh puts it, “when you’re not walking closely with God, giants loom enormous while God’s promised protection shrinks.”  She also reminds us that fear grows larger when you don’t face it.  Her stern advice has given me the courage to face a few giants that are looming large in my life, and I’m seeing how, as I face them, those giants are shrinking to a much more manageable size.  That alone is worth the time spent reading this book.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

