The Most Excellent Way to Lead {A Tyndale House Review}

41b1sHDJFOL._SX355_BO1,204,203,200_I’ve often served in minor leadership functions, as teacher on a team at churches and in other organizations, but I’ve never been a main boss before.  However, in my role as a mother, there’s no one other than my husband to answer to.  I’ve been reading through some different books on I Corinthians lately, and when I saw The Most Excellent Way to lead: Discover the Heart of Great Leadership, I was impressed by the idea of reading a whole book on leadership principles based on I Corinthians 13.

Noble starts by explaining the fact that he’s always felt that I Corinthians 13 is a little out of place contextually, as it falls between a chapter on spiritual gifting and a  chapter on spiritual leadership.  However, one day he realized that I Corinthians 13 wasn’t just something that you say at weddings.  Instead, it’s a chapter contextually on how to lead.  After explaining this realization, Noble spends the whole rest of the book taking a verse by verse look of how to apply these verses to leadership.  He takes his application from both life experience and from comparing with other scripture.

I did enjoy the book as a leadership text.  I  think learning from it will help me to be a better team member and a better mother in many ways.  I think that sometimes I’m ineffective as a mother and a teacher when I fail to provide a correct guidance and presence in both places.  I did find that I wished that there had been a bit more textual exegesis on I Corinthians 13.  The verses were used as epigraphs and to set a chapter theme, and Noble had some great applicational ideas.  However, I would have liked to see a little more exegesis of the text and of the context that the chapter is set in.

Still, all in all, it was a great book for Biblical leadership.  I especially liked the questions from Isaiah to help me identify my own selfishness.  I also appreciated his examination of “delighting in evil” and found it quite convicting.  I found that sometimes I’m delighting in evil and not even realizing it.  That’s something for me to work on for sure!

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

