The Seven Laws of Love {A BookLook Blogger Review}

_240_360_Book.1889.cover

I’ve been spending much of my reading time over the past couple of years reading books about relationships.  Sometimes I read books about parenting, other times about marriage and still others about loving our neighbors well.  So, when I saw the book The Seven Laws of Love: Essential Principles for Building Stronger Relationships, I was intrigued by the title, and it was soon on it’s way to my house.

In this book, Dave Willis, proposes that living well begins with loving well.  He notes that we are often given to making things and desires the center of our life.  However, God wanted love to be the centerpiece of our lives.  After all, when Jesus was asked the greatest commandment, he listed loving God and second of loving your neighbor.  Willis, going along these thoughts uses scriptures to find seven components that he considers to be essential principles to love.  These include such things as commitment, sacrifice, truth, etc.  He spends half the book expounding upon these principles and a second half of the book explaining love in action towards different people, from your spouse to your creator.

I thought that this was an excellent book, full of great advice and personable tales from the author’s life.  I felt that most of the author’s advice also had a great scriptural basis for application.  I don’t think there’s anything new here, but that might be proof of just how timeless his advice is.

I do have to share my favorite quote from the book.  He says, “When you say ‘I love you’ to someone, you aren’t just expressing your current feelings; you’re making a promise of commitment for your shared future.”  That’s something I want to pass on to my children and to those that they love.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

