My Favorite Things This Week

You might have noticed that I’ve taken a bit of a blogging break the past couple of months and only published some book reviews.  I was exhausted at the end of the Crew year last year, and as my children elected for us not to return to the Crew for 2016, I decided it was perfect for me to not write as much for a while.  (We’ll decide later if we want to reapply for 2017 😉 )  I needed some time for my love for writing to come back because I’d about killed it 😀

I’ve been thinking for two days that I want to bring my weekly wrap-up post back starting this week.  However, I’m going to frame it a little differently, and write it as a five favorites post.  I’ll see how this goes for the next few weeks.

The first thing that I loved this week was getting to go to a wedding with some of my Community Bible Study sisters.  CBS is a big part of my life that I don’t get to share with my Hubby, and it was so nice to be able to introduce him to some of the people that I study and have known for the past 5 or more years.

The bride’s family also paid for the children of the wedding guests to go play at a bouncy house, and I’ve gotten immense pleasure from watching Owlet go around with her little Hello Kitty glasses that she won at the arcade on Saturday.  She keeps telling people how smart she looks.

Owlet in Sunday School

My second thing that I’ve truly loved this week is reading Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairy Tales to the kids.  Most of the Doctor Who books we’ve read are not good literature.  They’re a little like junk food books, but this book was a hidden gem.  Many of the stories are beautiful, and I truly enjoyed this collection.

61UaoQ30YiL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

The third thing I’ve really loved this week is getting out some scrapbook supplies and using them in my Bible.  I’ve been reading through a devotional/applicational study of the beatitudes, and they had me pondering grace and mercy because the words show up often in the Bible together, but I’ve always equated them.  I’ve finally been able to distinguish the difference, and I decided to journal about it. . .with some little paper flowers from the scrapbooking supplies.

Grace and Mercy

The fourth thing I’ve really enjoyed has been the coloring book I’ve reviewed this week, Restore My Soul.  It’s really a beautiful book, and I’ve spent more than an hour or two coloring in it as we’ve shared episodes on Netflix from Man vs Food with the kids.  I’ve been surprised by how much they love Man vs. Food too!

71wCQ6W9ACL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_

The fifth thing that I have loved this week is the sense of knowing that God answers our prayers.  My Hubby has been driving a car that is 17 years old, and had over 200,000 miles on it (approaching 250,000).  It had started having transmission trouble shortly after Christmas, and we’ve prayed earnestly for a replacement for the car and that the car, when it died, would die in a place where it wasn’t on the interstate, etc.

Sunday night, my mother-in-law, who has had a bout of car fever, bought herself a new car.  Instead of trading in her 10 year old car (with 132,000 miles on it), she decided that it would make a great gift to my husband as a replacement for his car (And we haven’t even told her about the transmission trouble!).  She told him that she wanted him to have her old car on Sunday night.  Monday morning, my hubby’s car died before he could even get out of the subdivision.  His car is in the junkyard, and he now has a new to him car that is quite an upgrade.  All the windows roll up and down, there’s room to fit all four kids in the car if he needed to, and it even has air conditioning. 🙂  It’s amazing how God provides exactly what we need when we need it.

So, that’s a little picture into my week.  How was your week?

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Things This Week

  1. I don’t know what I loved the most – your gorgeous Bible notes or your answer to prayer. God really does respond to Faith, and I am so pleased your family has a new to you car 🙂

Leave a Reply

