Pressing Pause {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Pressing Pause

I think all Moms are looking for the companionship of knowing that someone else is going through what they’re going through, and if that someone else can point them to Jesus, then the time spent empathizing with each other is not in vain.  Or at least, that’s the way I feel.  So, when I received the opportunity to review Pressing Pause: 100 Quiet Moments for Moms to Meet with Jesus.

In this book, author’s Ruth Schwenk and Karen Ehman present 100 devotional pieces on common issues that moms face.  Each devotional has a verse of scripture, a personal story, a short prayer and reflection questions.  These reflection questions often contain an action question to allow you to live out your faith daily through the devotional.

I really enjoyed reading through the stories, questions and scripture.  I felt an easy rapport with the authors and knew that they understood and could emphasize with my every day wife and mother struggles.  When the spoke of not stopping to listen to God’s voice or do a good work that they knew they needed to do because of their business, I felt the sting of conviction.  I hope to start going back through these devotions slowly, working through the questions this time as I go, and enjoying the journey through pressing pause in my busy mom life.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

