How to Live in Fear {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

How to Live in Fear

Hi, I’m Rebecca and I have occasional panic attacks.  The very act of typing that sentence out left me gripped with a feeling that I couldn’t breathe and like I was going to vomit, so you can imagine that I could relate to Lance Hahn’s new book How to Live in Fear.  In fact, as I deal with a daughter who seems to have inherited my propensity for anxiety, I was very interested in hearing what help that Hahn might have for me in my struggle with both myself and with her.

Hahn’s book is split into three parts.  First, comes a history of his story and his relationship with fear.  This is told in a narrative format, in an autobiographical style to help you, the reader connect with him.  The second part of the book is a set of practical issues of dealing with fear.  We learn in this section how common fear is, some practical tips for coping with fear, ideas about medication and see a case study one instance where Hahn has allowed fear to infect his life.  The final section is more spiritually oriented by exploring fear and courage in the Bible, as well as discussing spiritual warfare and the important spiritual practices that help to overcome fear.

I found this book to be an helpful and refreshing look at a topic that we avoid.  Even though I struggle with fear, I have all too often found myself just telling my daughter to “Stop it!” as she is in the worst of her struggles.  I’m embarrassed to admit it.  Fear is often one of those secret struggles that no one wants to admit to, and I felt refresh that Hahn had been open enough to detail his struggles with fear in a way that many of us who deal with it are too afraid to.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

