Angels in the Bible Storybook {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Angels in the Bible Storybook Review

My children love Bible storybooks.  They’re a perfect way to cuddle and to read the Bible together as we’re cuddling.  As much as we have favorite storybook Bibles, I’m always looking for new storybooks to add to our collection, so when I received the opportunity to review Angels in the Bible Storybook, I was looking forward to sharing it with my children.

The Angels in the Bible Storybook contains many stories from both the Old and New Testament containing angels.  In some of these stories the angels are in the background.  For example, the creation story is told and it is told at the end of the story how the angels shouted praises for joy as they saw God’s creation.  That is, of course not told to us in Genesis, but in Job, so the angels are in the background there.

In other stories the angels are the stars of the show.  For example, the story is told of how Daniel prays for help and the good angel is delayed by the bad angel.  Another one told that has a starring role for an angel is of course when Gabriel appears to Zechariah to tell him about Elizabeth’s pregnancy with John the Baptist.

There are several things to like about this book.  The stories are beautifully told.  There are several stories that aren’t told in most storybook Bibles, and even my nine year old found that she didn’t recognize several of the stories as I was reading them.  I also like that the uses of angels is Biblical and not new-agey.  It’s a good reclamation of the angels from New Age spirituality.

On the other hand, there were several things I disliked as I was reading through this set of stories with my children.  First, my six year old found the illustrations confusing.  He thought that both the angels and the men in the story looked very feminine and he was confused as to who were the boys and who were the girls in some of the stories, and I didn’t like that he experienced that confusion.

He was also confused by some of the figurative language.  For example, the creation story said something to the effect that God colored the sky with a crayon, and my six year old was asking me if that was really how God did it.  I also felt a concern that some of the language in the story writing weakened or changed the story slightly from the story in the Bible.  I believe every word of God is pure, and I found this to be something that was a distraction to me from enjoying the stories as I felt the need to correct some of the theology and story details that I found faulty.

Overall, this storybook collection is a solid entry into the genre of storybook Bibles, and it makes a good addition to a library of storybooks.  However, as good as it is as a supplement to other Bible teaching, I would not consider it to be an adequate primary source for teaching my children these Bible stories.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

