Pitchin’ a Fit! {A Cross-Focused Reviews Review}

PItchin' A Fit! Review

I never considered myself to be an angry person.  However, as a new parent, I found depths of anger toward my children for not acting in predictable or controllable ways that I never even imagined I would have.  Although I wouldn’t say I’ve “arrived,” the past eleven years have been wonderfully sanctifying as the Holy Spirit convicts me of the sinful anger that sometimes grows while doing life with four children.  So, when I received the opportunity to review Pitchin’ A Fit!: Overcoming Angry and Stressed-Out Parenting, I knew that it would probably be a book that I would find helpful in dealing with sinful anger in my life.

The authors, Israel and Brook Wayne, know that no parent sets out to become a yelling, destructive (or even potentially abusive) factor in the life of his or her children.  After all, these are the very children that we hold in honor as gifts from God, our future and precious to us in every way.  Yet, if we in our powerlessness and lack of control, explode with anger and frustration, we will find that these precious little ones grow up to be angry children who will not want to continue in relationship with us.  They wrote this book to help us to examine anger in our lives: the causes, the triggers, and the way we provoke it in our children.  They go through and examine all these things, and they give parents practical and Bible-based solutions in patience, child training, abandoning yelling, giving affirmation, and creating peace in their houses.

The book is a very good compendium of advice and examination.  The authors write in a user-friendly and conversational style that isn’t intimidating or condemning, but instead, reminds you that they are parents in the thick of the battle against their own pride and selfish desires that lead to angry words and feelings.  I needed this reminder because much of the time, when I grow angry, I later realize that I’m the one in the wrong because my response is often triggered by my own selfish desires.  (A big thing parenting has taught me is how selfish I am!)

I gleaned a couple of pieces of advice that were particularly applicable to me, such as using few words.  I can give quite the lecture at times, and that doesn’t do anything to help your child to behave in the way that you would have them to behave either!  I also cringed a little when I saw the bit over playing off each other’s anger with the child as spouses.  It’s happened before in our house.  We’re still a work in progress, but I guess we all are!

At any rate, it’s a helpful book, and the authors have done a podcast interview on The Shaun Tabatt Show that you can also check out to learn more about the book as well.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Pitchin’ a Fit! {A Cross-Focused Reviews Review}

Leave a Reply

