Logic of English Essentials (2nd Edition) Review

essentials2nd_v1setwide_2015

When we were with the Schoolhouse Review Crew, one of our favorite programs that we got to review was Logic of English: Essentials. The extensive gameplay, extra activities, and enrichment really captured our idea of how to do English well.  So, when I received the opportunity to review a second edition of Essentials, I was tickled to be able to do it.

In this case, the author and publisher of Logic of English has went through and revised Essentials to make it multi-level, to provide more clarity on pacing and to provide better assessment at the end of each lesson. In doing this, she has made the program more user friendly to those homeschooling multiple ages and to those who are looking to add Greek and Latin roots into their education. She has also made the program so big that the current second edition book covers just a little over half the lessons that are in the original essentials.

I received this curriculum and I used it for a time with my nine year old daughter who is dyslexic and with my 10 year old boy who really loved Logic of English when we reviewed it for the Crew.

If you’re unfamiliar with the original Logic of English: Essentials, you probably should go and take a look at my original review because I’m only going to discuss differences and how we liked or didn’t like those differences in this review.  You can also look at the basic components of a lesson on the Logic of English Website to see how the lessons are basically structured.

Here’s what I loved:

  • I loved the color in the teacher’s edition.  The first edition had some basic blue and white, but the new edition is much more colorful and has very clearly defined boxes and structure.  This was much more user friendly and easier to open-and-go for me.
  • I loved that all three levels were in the same edition of the teacher’s book. That made it easy to work with one child on one level and another on a differing level at the same time.  It also led to less clutter on my bookshelf. That’s a great thing for me.
  • I loved the introduction of Green and Latin roots.  That’s something I really appreciate on the vocabulary development front and I like that they are included in this.

Here’s what I didn’t love:

  • The split into daily sessions.  It created way more work that we wanted to do for English, and made my children hate that time of day.  I’m a box checker and like to complete everything on the list, so seeing it in a weekly format made us do far more and spend far longer on English than our relaxed homeschool can really tolerate.
  • The workbook having all three levels in it.  My children found it confusing and irritating to be skipping around in the workbook.  We would all have much preferred having separate workbooks for each level as opposed to one big workbook.
  • I didn’t like that each lesson included a weekly assessment.  I preferred having unit assessments every five lessons.

Something else that I don’t love, but I didn’t realize it at the time that I did our original review is the phonogram assessments.  They are difficult for me to dictate and my 10 year old to remember the differences in.  We just skip those in each lesson now.

Although it was nice to get to experience this curriculum, this wasn’t one that really worked for us because we enjoyed the more flexible and feel of the older edition, and my ten year old quickly asked to go back to the first edition.  We continue to work through that edition in a very relaxed and fun kind of way.

As for my nine year old, it just was not the curriculum for her.  I’m still searching for the right thing to help her with her reading difficulty, but this is not it.  Still, she enjoys the different games, and I feel like those do help her, so I’m continuing to use the game book and game ideas with her.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  My opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

