Breaking Busy {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

Breaking Busy

Last year was my year of burnout.  I was trying to do too much on the blog and at church, as well as homeschooling my four children, and feeling like I wasn’t doing enough and I wasn’t good enough because I wasn’t working outside the home or doing additional volunteer work.  So, I have started on a journey to simplify everywhere so that I can enjoy my life and so that I can be present in the lives of my husband and children.  I’ve read several exciting books on the journey, and Breaking Busy: How to Find Peace and Purpose in a World of Crazy is a delightful self-help book to help you manage your time, relationships, thoughts and traditions in a way that is life-giving.

This book starts by examining capacity.  Everything you say yes to means that you’re saying no to something else.  To me, our family’s choice to homeschool means that I have chosen to spend the majority of my time educating and discipling my children.  I’m very slowly learning to say no to the commitments that keep me from being the best steward of my primary responsibility.  Worthington teaches you as you go through the book the signs that you’ve overextended yourself, how to work out your life’s calling and how to edit out the things that aren’t a part of your goals.  As a person of faith, Worthington also reminds us that our goals are ultimately the goals that God gives us and that obeying His commands and plans for our lives is the most important thing we can do.

In the end, I found this to be a really quick read that is chock full of information on decision making, goals, calling time, and relationships.  I underlined many passages as I went through to write in my notebook to re-examine later and I gleaned a great deal of encouragement.  I also found several strategies that I want to reflect on further and apply to my life.

Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

