Your New Money Mindset {A LitFuse Publicity Group Review}

Your New Money Mindset

I have had difficulty managing my finances.  I always feel like, maybe if I had five dollars more or worked or something, our whole lives would be better.  Of course, that’s not true, and that wouldn’t be God’s plan for our family, but it doesn’t stop me from sometimes feeling that way.  So, when I received the opportunity to review Your New Money Mindset: Create a Healthy Relationship with Money, I felt like that would be a good help for me in working through my issues managing our finances.

The first thing that surprised me about this book is that this is not a book of practical financial advice.  Instead, authors Brad Hewitt and James Moline concede that you can know a bunch of facts and tips for budgeting and handling your money and still feel like you don’t have enough money to cover all your needs. They prove their point by showing examples from studies where even the richest people in the country feel like they would be happier and more secure if they had 25% more money.  In fact, one of the more compelling pieces of the book is a pie chart that they have in the second chapter of the book.  Throughout that chapter the authors explain that only 13% of the Christians surveyed that they were basing their data on were happy with the amount of money that they had and weren’t longing for more. I found that to be terribly convicting because of how often I could be happy with what we have, but in comparison with others, I find myself discontented and longing for things that others have or that I see in ads.

The rest of the book explains places where our attitudes need to change and where, if we focused less on ourselves and more on what we could do for others, we could find true contentment.  There are questions in the back for discussing this book in groups and there is an online assessment that you can take at their website to help you pinpoint the areas where you need some help in handling your relationship with money.

This wasn’t really the money book that I was looking for because I’m often just struggling and wondering how to pay the bills and buy groceries too! However, by reminding me that money and more stuff isn’t really the answer to my problems, this just may have been the money book that I needed.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

