40 Days of Decrease {A BookLook Bloggers Review}

40 Days of Decrease

I’ve always felt like I had difficulty properly celebrating the Easter season.  I attend an evangelical church where Lent is not celebrated, and yet I’ve often felt drawn to the season.  It seems like a deeper way to draw close to Jesus in a seasonal fashion.  So, I was intrigued when I received the opportunity to review 40 Days of Decrease: A Different Kind of Hunger. A Different Kind of Fast.

Here’s the cover description:

We ache deep within to meaningfully honor Christ’s resurrection.  Yet, in practice, this focal point in the liturgical calendar is often a celebration of public holiday more than it is of humanity’s hope.  At days’ end, we fall asleep well-fed and perhaps even grateful, yet still somehow something short of awed.  Enduring awe is the fruit of daily participation with Jesus, our resurrected Love.

40 Days of Decrease invites readers to walk with Jesus through the holy decrease of less and loss that led Him cross-ward and beyond.  Each day offers a meaningful consideration of Jesus’ journey through reading and reflection and then issues a challenging daily fast.  Instead of social media, chocolate, and designer coffee, 40 Days of Decrease calls communities to a Lenten fasting of apathy, injustice, resentment, hypocrisy and more for the love of God.

After all, in the same way self cannot satisfy self no matter how long it feasts, self cannot starve self no matter how long it fasts.  Decrease is only holy when its destination is love.  We thin our lives to thicken our communion with God.

Although I read through the book over the course of a few days instead of taking a meditative forty day reading, I found that this is a very meaningful book.  There are verses to contemplate and journal through each day, short snippets on the history of Lent, daily fasts to consider completing, something to reflect on, and a short devotional related to the themes of Easter and the verses that are under study.

One of the things that I’m already taking away from this book is how I sometimes seek to “fix things.” I want to make God look good before I acknowledge my hurts and pains in life.  I’ve decided already to fast from trying to “fix things.” I look forward to  taking a closer look and a more meditative reading of the devotional during the Lenten season.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

