Winter Fruit Salad

Lately, it seems like I’ve spent a lot of time looking at cookbooks and reading about Mediterranean diet.  My blood pressure is high (controlled by medication), my thyroid is slow and underactive, my cholesterol is slightly higher than normal.  My blood sugar is still normal, but on a higher side of normal as well.  As for my weight, well, I don’t even want to talk about it.

Still, I have very little self-control for counting calories or anything of the like, so I’ve been looking to make lifestyle changes that will benefit me without me having to rigidly count calories.  I figure that calorie counting can come after I’m eating healthier and exercising a bit more.

As I have a slightly limited budget to work with, I’m looking for the most frugal ways to eat mediterranean food that I can.  I figured that along the way, I’d share these recipes with you guys.  The first recipe I’ve found to share is a seasonal winter fruit salad.  However, once you’ve seen the fruit salad ingredients, you’ll know this is frugal year round.

Winter Fruit Salad

The source for this recipe is from eMeals.  I’ve been subscribing to their Mediterranean plan for a month or so for simple ideas, and this is a recipe worthy of sharing and tweaking to find your own favorite fruits, etc. for it.

Winter Fruit Salad

  • 4 clementines, peeled and sectioned
  • 3 oranges, peeled and sectioned
  • 2 ripe pears, cored and sliced
  • 2 apples, cored and sliced
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice

All you have to do once the fruits are chopped is to toss everything together in a large serving bowl.  This fruit salad only keeps for a couple of days.  It’s the pears.  They start looking bad after a day or so.  Still, we have six people in our family, so we went through this salad fairly quickly, and I’m going to be making it again to go with sandwiches, quesadillas, etc.

Linking Up with Tell It To Me Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

